Books by Cheryl Lawton Malone

Cheryl is the author of two children’s books, DARIO AND THE WHALE (2015) and ELEPHANTS WALK TOGETHER (2017), both published by Albert Whitman. DARIO AND THE WHALE is a Shelf Awareness Best Children’s Book of 2016, a Cooperative Children’s Book Center Winner for 2017, a Book Best Debut Picture Books of 2016, and a 2018 Mass Book Awards Must Read. It is now in its fourth printing. She currently has three works-in-progress: a Middle-grade adventure, EVAN HUBERWHISTLE & THE ROCKETEERS OF PINTH, a picture book, LITTLE KIT’S WISH, and a graphic novel series for emerging readers, EEL GRASS POND. Cheryl is also a freelance writer, creative consultant, and award-winning poet. After a successful law career, she obtained her MFA from and taught creative writing at Lesley University in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She consults on manuscripts through Grub Street and speaks at schools, museums, and libraries. Her stories and poems have appeared online and in numerous journals and anthologies, including YARN, Bumples.com, and Lutheran Journal.

Published

Dario and The Whale

When Dario and his mother move to Cape Cod from Brazil, Dario has a hard time making friends since he doesn’t speak English well. But one day Dario meets someone else who has just arrived in New England and he doesn’t speak any English at all…because he’s a right whale! Day after day Dario and the whale meet at the beach. But what will happen when it’s time for the whale to migrate?

Praise for DARIO AND THE WHALE

“A heartwarming paean to long walks along the beach.” Kirkus Reviews

“[W]ill spark rich conversations[.]” School Library Journal

“[P]owerful yet buoyant.” Shelf Awareness (starred)

Elephants Walk Together

As calves, Asian elephants Precious and Baba roam the wild together, curious and proud. But when they get captured and are split up, their time together seems like a distant memory. Still, separated by many miles and over many years, their friendship remains, and there’s hope they will once again roam wide open spaces together.

Praise for ELEPHANTS WALK TOGETHER

“Heartwarming . . . a sweet and sensitive encouragement of wildlife conservation.” Kirkus Reviews

“This sweet story of enduring friendship should help create empathy and spark lots of questions.” Booklist

Works-in-progress

Evan Huberwhistle & the Rocketeers of Pinth

(Work-in-progress)

A middle-grade, high concept, flying adventure of a boy inventor who sets out to build a rocket and prove the unthinkable—stars are real! With the help of a gang of working-class misfits, Evan must prove his home, the frozen planet of Pinth, is not alone in the universe while evading dinosaur-sized predators, and outwitting his aunt, the General, and the evil Council of Ears. Can Evan change his destiny and reach the stars?

Stay tuned for updates on this work-in-progress!

Illustrations by Yuliya Pieletskaya

Little Kit’s Wish – a picture book

(Work-in-progress)

Every three years or so, on the fourth moon of summer, the Lady of Light travels to a magical garden to grant wishes. A baby fox named Little Kit is practicing his wish when he discovers that his friends’ wishes seem bigger and more important. Baby Turtle dreams of becoming a ballerina. Young Frog wishes to be a tenor and the Peepers dream of being a real orchestra. Kit fears his wish isn’t good enough. When the Lady of Light transforms the night garden into a moon-washed, glittering stage, Kit grows more unsure. Before the whimsical evening is over, will Kit find the courage to wish for what is in his heart?

Little Kit’s Wish is a whimsical forest tale inspired by the Blue Moon phenomenon that is sure to help little dreamers drift off to sleep.

Stay tuned for updates on this work-in-progress!

Illustrations by Brittany Jacobs

Eel Grass Pond – A Graphic Novel Series for Emerging Readers

(Work-in-progress)

Long-time besties, Ruth, a frog, Ori, an otter, and Goosafina (Goo), a Canada goose, live in a coastal salt pond, an environment as unique as their friendship. Ruth, the leader of the trio, is confident and friendly. Ori is less sure of herself but a gifted athlete. She tends to follow Ruth’s lead. With an extra dose of common sense, Goo is the peacemaker. Against the backdrop of the diverse beach community of Eel Grass Pond, these fearless friends misstep their way through the silliest of problems, ultimately relying on humor and each other to make what they’ve done wrong, right. This easy-to-read series abounds with heart-warming graphics, a soothing coastal palate, funny pond puns, and light-hearted competition. Like the pond they call home, the friendship between Ruth, Ori, and Goo forms an unbeatable oasis against an ever-changing environment. Each book includes a short author’s note on a different aspect of coastal salt ponds, their inhabitants, and ecosystem. Intended for readers ages 5 – 9. Perfect for fans of Narwhal & JellyHamster and Cheese, and Pea, Bee, & Jay.

Stay tuned for updates on this work-in-progress!

Cheryl Lawton Malone's latest work-in-progress:

Evan Huberwhistle & the Rocketeers of Pinth

LEARN MORE E